Gluten free and soy free in Disney World

It’s been a while since I’ve written and I’ll work to fix that, but for now–I have exciting updates! We returned from 5 nights, 4 days at Walt Disney World in Florida (and a few days with nearby family there). We got to see it decorated for Christmas, with our visit concluding on Christmas morning. We were on Disney’s free dining plan (however we upgraded for a small fee to Deluxe because I much prefer sit-down meals for allergies to the fast food), so I have many food reviews to post!

DSCF0365 (I loved Animal Kingdom’s unique Christmas tree!)

As always, all my meals are gluten free (to the celiac standard) and pork-free.  For years now I’ve avoided soy like tofu or soy flour, because I also have problems that come from it, but I never bothered to eliminate small sources of soy like soy lecithin (a binder in most chocolates and many other places!) or soybean oil until last year.  I feel much better, so this trip had the added complication of soy free.  I was not compensated by Disney in any way, I just like to share my experiences to help others enjoy allergen-friendly travel!  Restaurants we visited in Disney that I’ll be reviewing in the coming days are:

1900 Park Fare
All Star Sports food court
Boma (several breakfasts & 1 dinner)
Citricos
Coral Reef
Crystal Palace
Flying Fish
Kona Cafe
Olivia’s Cafe
The Wave

ABC Commissary (short review of the allergen procedures, but did not eat there due to soy)

Leave a Reply

