The Bald Strawberry: GF cafe in Melbourne, FL

While we were in the Space Coast area of Florida visiting family in December, I had researched places I could eat before the trip and so I knew I had to try this all-GF cafe!  It’s a little hard to find in their shopping center, but I’m so glad we went, it’s worth the hunt! All their pizzas, sandwiches, and desserts are on a gluten free waffle as the base.  Their food tasted amazing!  My husband and I ordered the Garden Girl pizza and the Joe Cool turkey sandwich and split both so we could try more than one thing. 

I forgot to take a picture while we were there, but this is a waffle sandwich much like they served, recreated with their take-home waffle mix!

Image

Both were delicious and even though it’s a real small cafe, the cook was very accommodating (though our server was slow). I have soy & tomato problems plus a pork allergy on top of celiac, so had to ask some extra questions & make changes! They did use coconut oil or milk, which my mom is allergic to so she just had chips & salsa, but she could have had a salad as well safely.  Prices at the cafe were very reasonable for gluten free ($8-10 for most sandwiches or personal size pizzas).  We also bought a bag of waffle batter to go to bring home with us and they came out very yummy at home too! ($6 or so for a pound bag roughly I think).

Image
They also co-own a gluten free bakery further down in the shopping center, we had a brownie from there that was good. They are best to reach with questions on their Facebook page. 
(I was not compensated for this review, they did not even know about it, I just like to share my finds for other GF/special diet people!)

Leave a Reply

