La Mattina in Fayetteville, PA

-La Mattina on Rt. 30 between Chambersburg and Gettysburg

In what is an amazing display of how gluten free friendly central Pennsylvania is, in what feels like the middle of nowhere near Caledonia State Park, on Route 30 between Chambersburg and Gettysburg (officially in the town of Fayetteville) is an amazing little “mom and pop” Italian restaurant called La Mattina with several amazing gluten free options.  I had a cheese pizza and it came in a special foil pan so it didn’t touch the pizza oven and it came with my own person red and white plastic cutter (sealed in plastic)!  They seemed very knowledgeable when I asked about separate utensils, etc. Their very extensive gluten free menu also offered gluten free ravioli, stuffed shells, pierogies, and pasta!  I did not get sick at all from their pizza! The crust was a bit dry and flavorless, but the sauce and cheese made it tasty and the leftovers reheated well the next day.  It was a pretty large size (probably would comfortably feed 2, not your usual personal size for GF) and I think about $11.  I didn’t remember to take a picture, sorry!

(As usual, I was not compensated in any way for my review, just my honest thoughts to help others gluten free or with food allergies! It’s also not medical advice.)

Leave a Reply

