Mama Melrose Gluten free at Hollywood Studios

This was one of my favorite meals of the entire trip!  I had found out they had gluten free chicken parmesan and therefore had been looking forward to it for some time now!  When we got to the restaurant, we were seated promptly.  The chef came out to discuss my options, and I told him I was hoping for the gluten free chicken parmesan, but I was also allergic to pork and peanuts and that I was hoping for the tomato sauce on the side (I was having some acid issues). Image

The gluten free rolls, (the new GNI brand I believe) were heated fairly well but hardened as they cooled until they were almost inedible. The butter was unsalted and needed salt badly for some flavor.

Image

The chef was so reassuring, telling me he would need to pan cook the chicken instead of grilling it because the pork is grilled. He apparently then broiled the chicken with the cheese on top, to make it perfectly melted, served on top of very yummy pasta that I would swear wasn’t gluten free if I didn’t know better by not getting sick!
The waitress was not super knowledgeable or attentive, I had to ask for separate butter for my gluten free rolls without being offered it, and she didn’t check on us again after the bread delivery until the end of the meal (someone else delivered our food).

Image
This restaurant was also quite affordable (at least by Disney standards), with this meal coming in as quite filling at only $18, keeping in mind most fast food choices in the park are at least $10.  Also if you eat at quick service, it typically requires a long wait for allergy needs and doesn’t have air conditioning–which was a MUCH welcome need in a park where almost everything is outside in the heat.  Despite what they try to make you think with this snowman on display around the corner from the restaurant, it was HOT!

(As usual, I was not compensated in any way for my review unfortunately! I would love to be compensated to check out all the lovely Disney gluten free restaurants!  But, these are just my honest thoughts to help others gluten free or with food allergies! It’s also not medical advice.)

Leave a Reply

